Oregon Math Education Awards (Current)
Oregon Math Education Awards (Previous)
Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics Teaching
OCTM Rep Regional Awards

Oregon Math Education Awards

Each year the OCTM Executive Board gives two annual awards to recognize and honor teachers and leaders. The Recipients exemplify the spirit and dedication of two of Oregon's outstanding mathematics teachers: Mildred Bennett and Oscar Schaaf.


Jane Osborne

The Mildred Bennett Elementary Math Education Award

The Mildred Bennett Award is given to an elementary or middle school teacher. This year the award was given to Jane Osborne, an elementary TOSA for the Hood River School District.

Complete text of Jane's article.






Marie Cramer and her mom

The Oscar Schaaf Secondary Mathematics Education Award

The award is given to a middle, high or college teacher and this year the winner is Marie Cramer a high school math teacher who recently retired from the Salem- Keizer School District.

Complete text of Marie's article.




Cathy Bernhard and Jackie Cooke


The Oregon Hall of Fame Award

OCTM also gives a third award, the Hall of Fame Award, when appropriate.  It is a career achievement award which recognizes a commitment to making a change in the quality of math education. This year the Hall of Fame Award was given to TOMT Editors Jackie Cooke and Cathy Bernhard.


Complete text of Jackie and Cathy's article.






                                                                                           Jackie Cooke and Cathy Bernhard